After Finals

I’ve never been happier in such a long time. I’m finally rid of OSU for five whole weeks, I got to hang out w/ good friends on Friday, and Joel took me on the most amazing outing/date today. Lets start at the beginning.

Friday, I went on a walk with my friend Andrew. It was super great, until after we went creek walking. I got such a huge cut on my foot, and twisted my ankle in the process. It’s angry, and my foot looks like this:

Not good, eh? Yeah, I didn’t think so. It hurts so friggin bad. The skin’s going to die eventually, then I’ll be in worse shape. Bah, this is all I need. I think I’ll go running anyways.

Then, I went to Newport w/ Joel today. He got me at 10:30, and we first went to the Oregon Coast Aquarium. We thought about seeing my friend Ashley at Hatfield, but I much rather just have Joel to myself. After that, we went to lunch at the Rogue brewpub, and had a good irish red with my turkey sandwich. Mmmm beer for lunch… Then, we saw the Yaquina Bay Bridge. In 1937, it looked like this:
Wow, neat, huh? Last time I was in Newport, it looked like this:

That’s taken with a real camera. Now it looks like this:
That’s pretty awesome for a camera phone. After we saw the bridge (can you tell I love the bridge?) we saw lots of other things:
These guys were lazing in the harbor of Yaquina Bay. They were SO loud, but funny. They kept barking at each other. If you bark at them, it’ll get them going 🙂 I think people get really irritated with that!! Oh well, moving on:
This is Seal Rock in the back right. Remember that picture of me with the red hat? Oh, let me refresh your memory:
So, that’s Seal Rock. And I took a picture of it from far away. Neat, eh? More piccys!::
These are lazy sea lions, like in the Harbor, but now in opean ocean. I love sea lions. They cause a ruckus.
This is Hecetia Head lighthouse, and the other house on the right is just a really nice house. I got this paragraph from some Lighthouse webpage:

Heceta Head’s light first shone in March of 1894, 205 feet above sea level and visible for over 21 miles. One thousand barrels of blasting powder were required to create a flat table on the rocky cliffs. Heceta remained an extremely isolated outpost until the 1930’s when road crews arrived with their families and tents to construct Route 101, the Pacific Coast Highway. The area is named for Captain Don Bruno de Heceta of the Spanish Royal Navy, an explorer whose expedition passed along the Oregon coast around 1775.

Horray for the webpage. Here’s a piccy of the actual light house (taken from the hill above it)
And that was it 🙂 We drove back through Waldport and went home! Ok bye bye!

Leave a Reply

