Holy Lord.

Why can’t I have a normal trip home, for once?!

My engine blew up.

No, no, wait, it’s okay, I did get home (eventually), but I was stranded in Roseburg for… two hours? I sat on the side of I-5 with a sandwich, bottle of water, and 1984. If my hood weren’t up, it’d look as though I was having a picnic. The tube connecting the manifold and the air intake blew off, and I lost the metal thing that attached the two together, so I couldn’t go anywhere. No air means the computer would say no more gas, which means my car backfired and scared the living poop out of me. I didn’t cry, but I was damn close. Eventually, a family pulled up behind my car and they were sooo helpful. The dad actually found my metal thing, and put my car back together (all before the bloody towtruck got there), and the mom wanted to take me home with them so she could feed me and let me sleep there since it would be relatively late once I got to Palo Alto (yeah, it was 12:30am when I got home). They were like angels! They selflessly helped me out and cheered me up 🙂 I just wish I got their names so I could send them flowers or a basket.

Next, a boat became unhitched from the Surburban that was pulling it. Oooh that was scary. I got past it without dying.

If I had anyone to play roadkill bingo with, I would’ve kicked their butt. I saw a dead wild pig. Who sees those everyday? Oh, and a dead fricken Lynx or something. Giant cat-like creature. It was sad, because it reminded me of Capone, but at the same time, I wanted to get out and poke it with a stick.

When you drive out of the Klammath Range and you see Mount Shasta in the distance, bathed in golden sunlight… It’s one of those times where you say, “Yeah, there could be a God. That’s the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen.” And it was. I should’ve stopped and taken a picture, to be honest. There were a few people stopped off the side of the freeway with their expensive cameras. I don’t think my camera phone would’ve done it justice. *sigh* It’s that moment where you wish you had all the time in the world to stand there with your significant other, wrapped in each others’ arms, enjoying the view as the sun slowly sinks below the horizon. The sky turns into a kaleidoscope of pinks and oranges, and the warmth envelopes you like a familliar blanket… Sorry, I’m getting a bit sappy, even for my tastes. I think I’m depressed because I actually got home. For a second, while I was stranded, I was happy I couldn’t go home. I was excited at the prospect of being able to turn around and drive back.

Ok, so I’m not really making any sense. I had four energy drinks, four cans of pop, and only a little bit of water. I’m shaking like a leaf in a tornado. I think there really is a limit as to how much caffeine you can put into your body at once, and that much just isn’t good for you. Actually, I think I put a hole in my stomach.

Well, here I am. Might as well make the best of it and go to REI to replace my Tevas.

Leave a Reply

