Goodbye, Steve McClaren.

We all knew it would happen.  When Robinson, despite his imperfections, didn’t show up on the roster for last week’s England – Croatia match, we knew it was going to go downhill.  Robinson DOES suck, but he was much more qualified and had so much more experience than Carson (who was only 22, for those of you who didn’t know).  In 8 minutes in, Kranjcar shot from 30 yards out and Carson kind of elbowed the ball in as it hit the top of the net.  Honestly, it was a beautiful shot and Carson was kind of lost in saving it.  If it had been Robinson, he would have got it.  (If it had been Cech, and he was English, we wouldn’t have lost).  About six minutes later, Eduardo kind of tipped the ball to Olec, who just tapped it in (and apparently Carson forgot he was playing).

Well, suffice to say, I was on the brink of tears, and Justin and Ashley were both in shock.  After the interval, they put in Beckham and Gareth Barry (one of my favourites… I’m not sure why, tbh) and we received a penalty (woo!).  Not from them!  Defoe had his shirt tugged on by some guy on Croatia.  Lamps took the penalty kick, and we were then at 2-1!  After nearly giving them 2 goals, Beckham crossed the ball over just like he does (beautifully) and Crouch just made a spectacular goal.  I found it on You Tube and watching it can make me forget that we lost.  We were tied, that’s all we needed to qualify, and we had it!!!

Of course, in the end they got another goal with 15 mins left of the match, and we didn’t have enough time to catch up.  I was soooo depressed.  I cried, Justin swore, I swore, and Ashley slept through it.  How did she do that?!?

Right, so back to Steve McClaren.  If I were him, I would’ve wanted the ground to swallow me up, or a natural disaster to happen during the match so we could have a rematch.  He was hired by the FA because he was easily manipulated to do what they wanted.  But, now he’s gone.  They considered The Special One, but naturally, he turned them down.  He’s butthurt from being kicked out of Chelsea.  What makes them think he’ll come back and play nice?  I know the FA had nothing to do with him being sacked, and it’s all the Russian’s fault.  But seriously! If he was going to come back, I fully expect the Russian to apologise and kiss his butt.  Martin O’Neill was the other favourite, but he was passed over the first time in favour of McClaren, so what makes them think he’ll be chosen now?  Rumour has it Fabio Capello from Real Madrid is interested in the job, and I would be quite excited if we picked him up.  He’s one of the most decorated managers in european football, with titles for every team he’s coached (Real Madrid, AC Milan, Juventus, and AS Roma).  Granted, he did screw up with not playing Beckham or Ronaldo (he’s a whiny little bitch anyhow) when he still managed Real Madrid, and forced them both to pay out their contracts and move to other teams (LA Galaxy and AC Milan, respectively).   One other little note, after he won that title this year in 2007, he was still fired for shaming the team.  The US team contacted him to be their manager, but he’s much more interested in moving to England.

Well, Steve McClaren, we’re sorry to see you go, but at the same time, you made me cry last Wednesday, and that is inexcusable.  We should have drawn with them, and your retardation at putting in an obviously green keeper cost us the match.  Thanks a whole bunch.

3 thoughts on “Goodbye, Steve McClaren.

  1. I was very tired in my defense. I had a very long 2 day week… ok lemme rephrase that. prior to two very long days I had virtually no weekend and a very long 5 day week. So I was tired, I had mooched a very warm fuzzy blanket from your close and I wasn’t being kept attentive by Sim City Societies, as I was later. Oh and that chair seems to put me to sleep every time I sit in it, and we lose… have you noticed that… or maybe it’s just losing… or your chair is comfy… One or the other. then again whenever I sit there we lose. I’d say it’s why we lose but a few times its been DVR’d games and I still fall asleep and we still lose. Basically if we’re gonna lose I lose interest and fall asleep. I was very awake and on the couch during the Chelsea v Man City match. Any who very long very rambling comment… I kinda noticed about 50 words ago that it was getting this way. I just decided to keep typing… if anything just cuz I find it funny. Just like me asking you if we can play Sim City. Wow… sounds pathetic… maybe cuz it is. Then again I just finished an episode of Robin Hood. Which I am slightly excited each week when I find the new episode on Veoh. So yes I am pathetic. I do fall asleep during footy matches (when we lose or when I sit in the chair… still up for debate). And I like Robin Hood and Sim City. Now that this is all established I think we can all feel confident in the fact that this is a very long comment that by all means should probably just be a post but I’m too bloody lazy to type this on my own blog.

  2. Hi Orchidellia.

    They say something good always comes from something bad, lets hope so, for Englands sake.

    Nice blog BTW 🙂

Leave a Reply

