Ugh, my worst nightmare

I have a disease where I have to take several medications that do terrible, terrible things to your body. No, I don’t have cancer. At the moment, I’m taking 40mg prednisone (and a few others I don’t want to get into). The combination of drugs are making my white blood cell count drop through the floor, and my doctor doesn’t really know why. But, here’s what happened yesterday:

“Ugh, Ashley, I don’t feel well.”
“You didn’t feel well two days ago too.”
“But I have a low-grade fever now.”
“Well, shit, that’s not good.” (I don’t remember if she swore, but I think it’s funny when she does, so in my mind’s eye, that’s what she did.)

I went to the doctor today around 9:30, and they took me right away. They stuck an IV in me when I got there, and they took blood to do ‘another’ count and probably fill a whirlpool (with the amount they took, I wouldn’t be surprised). They did a cbc last friday, like every friday,, and then put me on an IV drip concoction of antibiotics and vitamins and such. I feel waterlogged, light headed, generally ill, and so, so tired.  The chairs are neat though: they’re like plush dental chairs, and I watched tv and slept (mostly watched tv…).

I’ve been given the order to stay away from anyone with even the sniffles, sleep a lot, drink lots of water, shower completely once a day (I usually wash my hair every other day), and stay unstressed. If I begin to feel worse *at all*, then I have to go back. To lighten things up, he even had the gall to tell me that sex raises your white blood cell count, and I just blushed furiously.

My doctor is the coolest 🙂

So, I feel a bit better after sleeping, but I need to be careful. I can’t even peel my own fruit. Have to clean the kittybox tonight… somehow… so I’ll figure it out. Definitely need a mask and gloves at least. I’m going to go have a bath. When I was sick when I was a kid, mom took care of me without me really having to think of anything, so now that I live on my own, I’m at a loss of what I should do. Any suggestions?

One thought on “Ugh, my worst nightmare

Leave a Reply

