What am I supposed to wear?!

I’ve got a lot of hits on my blog for hijabing, which kind of surprises me. But, if that’s what all of you are looking for, here are a few tips I’ve kind of lived by:

  1. You just need to be covered. Use your best judgment when it comes to what you decide to wear. I fluctuate between jeans (Levi’s 545s are my favourite), to skirts of some sort (Shukr has the nicest ones I’ve found). Find a long sleeved top. If it doesn’t cover your butt, it doesn’t cover your butt. If you want to wear a jilbab, then do so. If you want to wear an abaya, then do so. They aren’t necessary (some people will say otherwise, and that’s fine if they think that). Depending on who you talk to, they may say they are necessary, and that’s their prerogative.
  2. Pick whatever colours you enjoy, and wear those scarves. I have a few standbys that I like to wear a lot (usually the 1 piece Al-Amira versions that just slip over your head with no pins required… great for lazy uni students who plan their ‘getting ready’ time down to the last minute). I also look and see what the weather is. If it’s going to be 30C outside, you definitely don’t want to be wearing a thick pashmina – go for a silk scarf or a Kuwaiti version. If it’s 3C (like it has been here), wear a pashmina. If it’s raining, for pete sakes, bring a raincoat. Don’t ruin your scarves in the water.
  3. People will most likely go out of their way to be nice to you (at least, that’s what they do for me). Don’t worry about what you look like. Wearing hijab is not just your clothes, but your state of mind as well. Enjoy it πŸ™‚ Just because you’re covered doesn’t mean you have to be meek or quiet – if anything, I’m more self-assured than I used to be.
  4. Don’t forget to cover your neck!!
  5. Having your fringe show isn’t hijab. So please, pin back those extra strands of hair.
  6. Like I said, have fun with it. The internet is your friend, and you’ll be able to import all sorts of fun things.

My favourite website is: http://www.shukronline.com/home.html. They have the nicest skirts and long tops, as well as rather inexpensive, beautiful hijabs. They also have a collection of longer coats. Their clothes are made in Syria, and they have a separate website for the US and the UK.

Another great site is the Modest Clothing Directory. The owner is a revert (like myself), and has posted (most) every possible islamic clothing site she can find. The sites are separated by category, like shirts, pants, skirts, hijabs, jilbabs, etc. There are even a few sites for work out clothes (but I usually just wear black under armour under normal work out clothes, like shorts and a tshirt, with a lycra al-amira hijab).

For swimming, I’ve recommended this site before: Ahiida.com They have the BEST islamic swimsuits out there, hands down. They cover, they fit, they dry quickly, and they don’t drag that much. I love my burqini. Best $200ish purchase I ever made. They shipped from Australia, and I got the order in California the next week. Very impressed with their service.

So I guess that’s everything for now. Today, I wore an olive green corduroy skirt from Shukr, a red long sleeved favourite tee from Gap, my dark red Keens (yeah, I live in Oregon, so sue me), and a black North Face polar fleece. I think I wore a white Kuwaiti hijab. I didn’t exactly match, but I was covered and toasty warm. If you have any ideas of what you usually wear, let me know. I’d love to find out what you usually wear.

4 thoughts on “What am I supposed to wear?!

  1. Loved today’s “Pacific NW Hijabi” and I thought it all looked very good. Whatcha doing tomorrow for your snow bound field trip?

  2. Jeans, sorority letters, polar fleece, rainboots, turtleneck, pull on hijab (probably that blue one) or if it’s really cold, a pull on hijab and a hat. Brrr. Hope it doesnt snow πŸ˜›

  3. Loved reading about your hijab! Being a Christian and dressing modestly, I tend towards skirts/dresses and Jewish tichels/scarves. I used to freeze solid for the entire winter before I started covering my head and now I stay as warm as my sasquatch husband. πŸ™‚

    ~Anna

Leave a Reply

