Chelsea 1 – 1 Portsmouth

This match was disappointing to me. Chelsea should’ve won – they needed the three points to stay in contention for the cup. Unfortunately, they didn’t play as a cohesive team, and Pompy almost got the better of them. It’s really too late for a match account, but I’ll register my complaint:

Chelsea:  You need to start playing like a team.  I realise the majority of your best players are injured or are playing in cup games (whether for Euro 2008, which I don’t want to talk about, or for Africa cup).  You have to work with what you have.  Joe Cole is playing AMAZINGLY right now, so use that to your advantage.  There’s really nothing I can say except some of your players really aren’t ready to play for one of the ‘big four’ teams (Blues, Gunners, Man U, Scouses), and maybe Avram Grant needs to look at playing them against easier teams, or trading them somewhere else.  The only way to get out of this rubbish playing is to not give up towards the end of the match (even though I know we love doing that), and to acquire decent players who make good decisions with the ball.

Ok, that’s my tiny rant.  Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

