Home for Easter

Well, I left Corvallis at the buttcrack of dawn with Ashley on Good Friday… around 3:30. We got to Portland Int’l around 5:15, and my flight was supposed to leave at 6:15. Sooo, apparently everyone and their mum wanted to leave Oregon at that time. OMFG were there so many people at the airport. Ashley had already left by then, so I was on my own inside. I got through the line at Alaska Air to check my massive bag of luggage (dunno why I had my big one… I think it’s because I brought it home for xmas, then never put it back on the top shelf because of my bad shoulder, so it just stayed in the empty room, half packed, until I found it Thursday night).  Goodness.  I played the cancer card going through security.  I had about 30 mins until my plane took off, and thought, “Crap, I’m not going to make it,” because the line was 60 miles long.  Seriously.  So I got up to the guy at security and said, “I have cancer and I can’t stand up all that long. Can I go through the express line?”  He gave me the sad look and said, “Sure, sweetie. Just cut on through.”  Dude, then I saw the family from the TLC show “Little People, Big World.”  They looked sweet, but really tired, so I didn’t want to bother them.  It was crazy in the airport, and super early.  But, I turned to the dad finally and said, “IwatchyourshowallthetimeandIthinkyou’reawesome.”  Yeah, it was like that.  I just kind of blurted it out, like verbal diarrhea.  *shrugs*  I got on the plane ten mins after that, boarded, and sat near NO ONE (my row was empty, until some business guy came to sit next to me).   So yeah, that was it.  I got a free huge bottle of water, which was great too (one of those 2 liters).  I slept most of the flight – it wasn’t exciting.

Easter was a nice affair.  Vigil was long (it gets longer every year, I swear), and I got to sing Jesus Christ is Risen Today (my favourite song in the whole entire world!).  I saw a bunch of people from school when I was a kid, including one unmentionable family.  They thought I was alternative with my haircut, but they knew why, so they just gave me pitying looks and said they were praying for me.  I pretty much wanted to say, “You should be praying for your son, because he’s a jerkface,” but didn’t.

Mum cooked an amazing meal (as always), and all the people there kept asking me about my cancer.  They’re like, “Cancer is bad, tell me all about it,” and I’m like, “Nah, that’s okay, I don’t really want to talk about it.”

Dunno what else has been going on.  I went wig shopping today (hooray) and found a cute, shaggy long hair one.  It’s my actual hair colour, so about a level 3-4 if you know your levels when you get your hair dyed.  I’m going to make an appt to get my wig trimmed when I get home.  So, at least I’ll have hair.  It was nice there, with chairs for me to sit in, and the lady would look at my face and bring them over for me to try on.  She kept saying how brave I was, and then asked if my insurance would cover it.  Of COURSE not.  Providence sucks.  They won’t cover crap.  I’m paying for half of it (but mum and dad don’t know that – I’m pulling money from my trust fund so they have money to retire with.)  I’m just excited to have hair!! 😀  It only cost me… $375 for the synthetic wig, plus $45 for shampoo, conditioner, and a special brush so I don’t demolish it.  It’ll last for awhile until it starts to rub against my backpack and my shoulders.  Then it’ll fray and break off, so I’ll just have to be careful.  🙂  Sorry, Sean.  That means you can’t wear it while running around the house.

I think we’re having spaghetti for dinner tonight, so I better go help mum before she’s like, “Kristin, you never do anything around here, wah wah wah.”  I’d probably answer with, “I’m a guest!”  *snorts*  Never works.

One thought on “Home for Easter

  1. I love that I get the uncensored version of events. *Stupid Grin* Meh, they deserved it.

Leave a Reply

