Self-imposed isolation is kind of nice.

Yeah, you heard me. I don’t have to entertain, or put the kettle on, or dress “nicely” (like what I wore to church yesterday… gorgeous, french striped boatneck 3/4 tee, denim trousers, grey cable-knit 3/4 sleeve sweater, green patent-leather ballet flats, with a red patent-leather skinny belt… oh yeah, it was sexy), or put the snake away. I have a pet snake. No, it’s not a lewd term for masturbation, even though I could totally do that as well, if I did. (eew).

I can take ninety-thousand baths a day. I can wear my doggy jammies. (Idea totally stolen from someone else’s blog because they sounded comfy… and they are). I can even listen to Journey, loudly, on my computer, while singing along into a brush in my boxers and a wife-beater, with a David Bowie wig. Not that I’ve done that, but I could. (Ashley visualizes everything I tell her, no matter how retardedly disgusting.)

I need to make a list and go shopping. Like, shaving cream. Believe it or not, I’ve not lost ALL my hair – they aren’t doing blast radiation, thank you. My leg and arm hair are still going strong. Oooh, and bar soap. I don’t use it, but you never know when you might get that Irish Spring feeling, and you just NEED to use bar soap. Usually I buy fancy Suisun Bay Handmade Soap (see picture) from back home in California, but I was recommended Slab Soap Company by Sean, up in Salem. Suisun is really nice if you like olive oil soap, and I usually purchase the Wine Bath scent. Oh, heavenly GOD does it smell good. The quote from the website says:

The Wine Bath Soap from Suisun Bay Soap Co. is an olive oil based soap that has a variety of skin-soothing ingredients including jojoba oil, grapeseed oil, glycerin, and apricot seed oil. However, the thing that makes this product a real stand out is the completely delicious, elusive scent: a blend of white wine, port wine, bergamot, rose, geranium, vanilla, and ylang-ylang.

See? Genius. All of my favourite things in a soap. And, it’s one of the few they make without almond oil, which I’m allergic to. Yeah, that was a surprise when almond lotion was rubbed on my face one day during a facial. I mean, I knew I was allergic to them when ingested (marzipan is a no no), but I had the WORST hives on my face. I wanted to put a bag over my head for a few days. I think I ended up not going to school one day because my face hurt so bad.

Back the train up. What does any of this have to do with self-imposed isolation? Absolutely nothing – I just like to ramble. My cold has petered down to an annoying cough, and my sore throat is 80% gone. I just need to kick the cold this week, stay away from sick people, sleep a lot, and get ready for chemo NEXT week. Yeah, I’m a month off of my schedule. I’m still taking my prednisone and neosar tablets, and whatever else they’ve given me (anti-get sick pills, anti-pain pills, anti-everything pills… but only when I need them). They suggested I do some shot for red cells, but they gave me shots for white-cell and red-cell growth when I was at the hospital last time… and they make my hips hurt for some reason. Did you know cyclophosphamide is a nitrogen mustard alkylating agent… meaning, mustard gas/chemical warfare? Sweet. At least, I don’t think they mean the stuff you put on sandwiches… or sausage, in my case. I made sausage the other night, and I ran out of mustard halfway through, so I had to walk ALL the way to Safeway to get more. Safeway is about 800 feet away, because it’s 350 feet from my door to the end of the street (says Google Maps), and it’s about twice that distance from the corner to the doors of the store.

Hey, I have LOTS of time on my hands. So, I’m allowed to talk about things like sausage and soap. And don’t tell me you didn’t enjoy that 🙂

7 thoughts on “Self-imposed isolation is kind of nice.

  1. “like what I wore to church yesterday… gorgeous, french striped boatneck 3/4 tee, denim trousers, grey cable-knit 3/4 sleeve sweater, green patent-leather ballet flats, with a red patent-leather skinny belt… oh yeah, it was sexy”

    Had you not mentioned the words “trousures” and “sweater” I am not sure I would have understood what you were talking about… Being a man, if you ask me to imagine the above I will picture you in… I dunno, jeans & a sweater?

    Self imposed isolation isn’t bad… I work from home and went two months without answering my phone…

    (There is a fine line between isolation and depression in my case… [sigh])

  2. Jeans and a sweater, but oh so much more with the green shoes 😉 I get a kick out of dressing up when I leave the house since I’m usually in my pjs so much. Rarely do I actually wear “normal” clothes.

  3. Oh, I do so love those doggie pajamas; they’re the BEST.

    The past few times, they’ve forgotten to give me my 2 samples of Anzymet and I’ve forgotten to ask. I still have my Phenergen, but what the hey, I should have both.

    Anyways, I hope you feel better and get back on schedule soon.

  4. Thanks! The doggy pajamas were totally stolen from you, and I should give you credit. They’ve been very fuzzy and comfy in the last week or so. Hope you get better as well 😉

  5. So you made sausage from scratch, or you bought sausage and cooked them? I love cooking, but I’ve not yet got around to shoving things into bags of intestine. it does sound fun though!

  6. Nooo, I bought sausage. I’m not that industrious. The limits of my cooking involves mash from scratch, mushy peas, and chocolate chip cookies. Oh, and blue box mac n cheese.

Leave a Reply

