Chemo and Infections

I’ve had a fever for over a week, between 100.5 and 101.5, kind of fluctuating between the two. I developed the worst bladder infection this side of the mississippi on Saturdayish, and they still gave me chemo on monday and tuesday, along with lots of antibiotics.  I was in the worst pain of my LIFE on Wednesday, and could barely move.  I went to Safeway with Sean to get some AZO stuff to hopefully make it feel better, some cranberry juice, and some rice and milk.  I threw up in Safeway (into a bag at least, but still).  Well, the cranberry juice made it burn worse, and the AZO didn’t help at all the entire day.  I finally ended up taking viccodin because I couldn’t function.

I found online that you can take 1 teaspoon of baking soda and 8 oz of water, and that should neutralize the acid in the bladder.  So, I’ve done that a few times today (twice, actually), and I’m still taking the AZO, not taking oral meds except for the prednisone and the tetracycline, and I might take some viccodin again if it still hurts as much as yesterday.  I’m NOT doing well.  My fever is gone, but I’m so uncomfortable, and there’s nothing they can really do, so I’m stuck between a rock and a hard place.  Not to mention having all of the normal après-chemo side-effects.

I’m just trying to take this one day at a time, but it’s HARD. I hurt everywhere, and it’s hard to walk or stand up straight.  If I didn’t have Sean here to help me, I really don’t know what I’d do. At this point, I’m angry at my doctor for giving me chemo because I think it’s doing more harm than good. Bah, it’s all bullshit.

Leave a Reply

