Help stop the Freedom of Choice act!

I’m Pro-Life.  Yes, I said it.  I’ve taken a side (and it’s a side I’m happy to stand on).  Oregon is a very liberal state, and if there was a vote, today, on whether abortion laws should be lifted (ie: it would be easier for women to have abortions), then it would pass, hands down.  I would be one of the few dissident voters in the state.  I’ve tried to explain my side to people, especially in women’s studies.  Yes, if a woman was raped, then she should have the option to at least adopt the baby out, or abort it if it would harm her in any way.  But, if the baby is an inconvenience?  Hell no.  She should’ve known what she was getting herself into when she had sex in the first place.  You don’t get the option to “erase your mistakes” as some have put it.  If you’re old enough to have sex, you’re definitely old enough to deal with the consequences.  If you can’t deal with them, then don’t have sex. Period.

President-elect Obama has stated that one of the first bills he will sign into law is the Freedom of Choice act.  This Act would eleminate every abortion restriction in the nation.

  • FOCA will do away with state laws on parental involvement, on partial birth abortion, and on all other protections.
  • FOCA will compel taxpayer funding of abortions.
  • FOCA will force faith-based hospitals and healthcare facilities to perform abortions.

Obama believes this law will “end culture wars”, but it’s not about that.  It’s about protecting life – especially the lives of those who cannot protect themselves.

I was adopted as an infant because my mother and father, who were still in High School at the time, couldn’t take care of me.  They were both 17 years old.  But, abortion wasn’t readily available in the early 1980s, and if the situation had been now, I don’t doubt the idea that I wouldn’t be around today.  It’s a sad state of affairs when our young girls think they don’t have the option to adopt the child out to a family who can’t have kids.  Now that I’m pretty sure the Chemo has ruined my reproductive system, I’ll be sure to adopt from young mothers who wouldn’t be able to otherwise keep their child.

So please, pray for the Act to fail, sign the petition, and if you feel so inclined, tell your senator to vote against it as well.

5 thoughts on “Help stop the Freedom of Choice act!

  1. I am a creation of rape. My mother was raped by my father and my mother stayed with him. He raped her and was lucky to get her pregnant so that he could become legal in the States. I didn’t find out until the year 2000. When my mom told me my response was: “oh now it all makes sense.” See, my father, by biological, father, beat the shit out of me. I am his first born and he treated me like crap. The last time he hit me, I was 18 years old. So you know what I told my mom, I would have rather you aborted me, then the childhood that I was given.

    Unfortunately, because she was a devout Catholic at the time, that wasn’t an option. She married because her mother was a devout Catholic and told her she had to.

    Pro Choice is better, because an unwanted child is a child that is a burden, therefore will always be mistreated.

  2. Pingback: Pro-Choice My Experience As To Why « Pjohanna’s Blog

  3. Johanna, I agree with Matt. You are a creation of God, and He wouldn’t have given you those trials if you couldn’t have handled it. Sometimes, what doesn’t kill us makes us stronger.

Leave a Reply

